The First Kiss

“So, whereabouts do they live?” Max asks as we leave the warehouse. Briefly I look back.

“Do you think he’ll be alright?” I ask, ignoring the first question.

“Who? Aaron?” His voice has a snide tone and I scowl. There is no reason to be jealous.

“Colin,” I answer.

“Yeah,” he says, “he’ll be fine.”

He sounds confident but his hand tightens around mine and I know he is worried. “I can check myself,” I say.

“No, I can’t let you go alone.”

I sigh. This macho shit is getting tiring. I mean it’s nice to have someone look after me, especially as I’ve been alone since Ricky’s supposed death, but it is starting to grate on my nerves. “You understand that I don’t need looking after.”

Max raises an eyebrow. “Really? And who just saved your arse?”

“Who saved yours?” I snap.

He falls silent. “I have to.”

“What?” I’m in a foul mood and I’m not sure why.

“It’s almost as if it’s a drive, a need. I have to make sure you are all right.”

“Is it like that with Colin?” I ask.

“No.”

“Why?”

Max looks away and he tightens his grip on my hand, almost as if I’m going to run. “I don’t want to mate with Colin.”

“Oh…” There are very few times that I’m lost for words, but this is one. And to use that word, ‘mate’. It’s more permanent, almost like married. I don’t pull away though. I feel safe with him. Does that mean I want to be his mate?

“Why say mate?” I ask.

“It feels right.”

“Yes, but why not lovers?”

He stops and pulls me into his arms. We are standing in the middle of a vast expanse of tarmac with a burnt out terminal to our left. The air smells of death and smoke, yet at the same time I can block it out and only scent Max, the earthy aroma that is his. I can’t help but lean in. “I want you as mine, and mine only,” he rumbles and I nod. I can understand that.

I mean at the moment there is only me, the lone female in the group, but the thought of him being with anyone else fills me with anger.

“If I were agreeable?” I ask.

He gives a low growl and lowers his head. I raise mine and we kiss. I’d expected fireworks and explosions, but this is like sinking into a warm bath. It is as if his essence takes hold of me and cradles me close. I am warm and safe.

When he breaks off the kiss I want to cry out at his leaving. I need him to be with me, always.

Then my head starts to clear. I’ve never felt anything quite like it. It makes everything that I’ve experienced before, including Ricky, a pale comparison. It’s almost as if I have been experiencing everything in black and white and Max has just shown me what it is like to look at a full colour spectrum.

“Wow,” I say quietly.

“Yeah…”

I look around and notice that everything is the same. Nothing has changed yet I feel as if I have changed.

I clear my throat.

“We need to go.”

Max nods, but neither of us move. Not for a moment.

“The sun will be gone in an hour or so,” I say, not loosening my arms that are around his waist.

“Then you better let me go.”

“You first,” I say.

“Never.”

And just like that I step back. As I do it feels like a part of my soul has been ripped from my chest. Max is gazing at me and his eyes say that he wants continue this. I shake my head.

“We’ve got to go.”

He nods and holds out a hand. I take it and he swoops in for a kiss. This time I feel a burning in my stomach. It isn’t unpleasant and for a moment I wonder what it is and then it becomes an urge. Now I understand why he wouldn’t pull away. I desperately want to wrap myself around him and lose myself. Instead he finishes the kiss and we start walking.

“We will need to finish this,” he says.

I say nothing. I know we will.

About Kate

Kate Murray has recently completed her Masters in Creative Writing and is currently working as an illustrator and writer. Her first anthology of short stories ‘The Phantom Horse’ was published in December 2013 and she subsequently has had another anthology published by Raging Aardvark; “Love Just Is” looks at the truth of love, in all its guises from romantic to obsessive. She is currently working on an anthology of ghost stories which should be published at the end of October 2014 and is also writing her first novel. Kate runs two blogs, one is about her life as a writer (kate0murray.wordpress.com) and the other is a serialisation of a novel, “The Gone”; a disaster hits the world while Bitsy is on a flight from Italy. She lands to find that the world is completely altered and she must learn to survive in a place where everyone is not who they appear to be (thegone.wordpress.com). Kate has had short stories published in magazines and e-zines, including ‘The Lampeter Review’, ‘Jotter’s United’, and ‘What The Dickens’. She has had short stories included in the ‘Twisted Tales 2013’ anthology published by Raging Aardvark, and the ‘Busker Anthology’ and ‘Spooky Tales Anthology’ published by What the Dickens. Kate’s artwork has been exhibited at the Museum Of Modern Art in Machynlleth where she was selected after entering the art competition and at Aberglasney Gardens as part of the Mid Wales Art group. Her artwork has been published by companies from Norway to Australia and her latest works will have illustrations in it. She has also had a series of line drawings published by Staffordshire Wildlife Trust in their biodiversity action plan. Kate currently works in the foothill of the Cambrian Mountains where she has a purpose built workshop that she affectionately calls her ‘house’ as she spends far more time in there than anywhere else.
This entry was posted in Chapter 11 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The First Kiss

  1. Kate says:

    Reblogged this on Kate Murray and commented:

    Bitsy and Max kiss. The next part of The Gone. #amwriting #thegone

  2. DitchTheBun says:

    Things are getting primal in ‘Gone-land’ 🙂

Leave a Reply

