Flight

We start to move away and I can’t help but look behind us. Just moments ago Dee had been fine and now she was nothing more than a broken pile on the floor. I ought to feel something, but I don’t. At one point, when she’d held the knife on Max, I would have killed her myself, yet now that she is dead I don’t feel anything. Not sympathy, not relief, nothing.

“Max?” I call out. He slows and walks beside me. He says nothing but I know he is waiting for me to say something.

“Dee…” I start.

“I had to,” he interrupts. “She was turning and despite everything she didn’t deserve to become on of those things…”

I place a hand on his arm. “I know. I was just worried….”

“What about?”

I sigh and drop my hand. “I felt nothing. I ought to, but…” I shrug.

We continue walking for a while, Max not saying anything and me just looking at the floor. I have a feeling that he might be judging me and although I’m shocked that his silence hurts, it feels as though someone has stabbed me through the heart.

“Sorry,” I mumble and he looks at me, confusion on his face.

“You have nothing to be sorry for. If anything I am worried about the fact I killed her but felt nothing.”

“It’s as if she didn’t matter,” I say.

“Because she isn’t one of us,” Max finishes.

“Do you know what that stuff has done to us?” I ask.

He gives a slight shake to his head. “No, but I think we are still changing.”

Colin suddenly turns and looks at us. “Love-birds! Where am I going?”

We both look at him and I know that for a moment I find myself intensely angry that he has interrupted, but then I blink and it seems to reset my feelings. He doesn’t know the way to my friend’s house. I may even have a problem finding it.

Walking over to join him I look around to see where we are. The fire is on my left and I point just to the right of it. “That way.”

Colin nods and we set off again. This time though we set a faster pace. The only way I can describe it is by comparing it with a wolf pack. Not that I’ve ever seen one, but I have watched the documentaries about Yellowstone, the ground eating pace that they use in the snow. That is how we move. Colin is in the lead with me and Max following. We are all scenting the air and looking around, but we are leaving the directions to Colin.

“Maybe I ought to lead?” I ask.

Max stops and Colin seems to sense it and pulls up as well.

“No,” Max says.

“I know where I’m going.” I turn to Coin, expecting him to let me past, but he stands in my way. “What?” I ask, exasperated.

“You can’t,” he says. I notice that he isn’t looking at me, and something inside tells me that he ought to.

“He means,” Max says from behind me, “that you are too important to take point.”

“Important?” I can’t believe this.

“Yes, you are…”

“Oh no you don’t,” I interrupt. “You are not going to make some sexist comment about me being a woman.” I can feel the warmth of anger, but also a strange feeling that I agree with them. That I am precious because I’m female, but it goes against everything I have ever thought. I want to be an equal…

Max looks at me as if he know the inner struggle I’m going through. He doesn’t say anything though. Instead it is Colin who interrupts my thoughts.

“You are the only female of our species.”

I blink in astonishment. “But we are human…”

Colin gives a sad smile. “Not any more.”

Max looks at the ground and walks a little faster, pulling away from us. I know he is right, at least some part of me knows, but I don’t want to give up my humanity. I can’t. If I walk down that rabbit hole I just don’t know what will be at the other end. Looking at Max’s retreating back I can’t help but think that the decision has been made for me, that there is nothing I can do to stop me falling.

I just hope someone will catch me at the other end. As that thought finishes Max turns and smiles at me. It is a toothy smile full of mischief and looks like a boy’s, except for the too-black eyes and the pallor of his skin.

Colin takes a place behind me and we walk, rapidly picking up speed until my hair is whipping past me and I am smiling just from the thrill of freedom. I don’t notice if it is warm or not, I just run and feel the simple joy of my muscles moving smoothly and with more efficiency than they ever have before. I run and enjoy every moment, eyes half closed and feet making a slapping noise on the tarmac.

About Kate

Kate Murray has recently completed her Masters in Creative Writing and is currently working as an illustrator and writer. Her first anthology of short stories ‘The Phantom Horse’ was published in December 2013 and she subsequently has had another anthology published by Raging Aardvark; “Love Just Is” looks at the truth of love, in all its guises from romantic to obsessive. She is currently working on an anthology of ghost stories which should be published at the end of October 2014 and is also writing her first novel. Kate runs two blogs, one is about her life as a writer (kate0murray.wordpress.com) and the other is a serialisation of a novel, “The Gone”; a disaster hits the world while Bitsy is on a flight from Italy. She lands to find that the world is completely altered and she must learn to survive in a place where everyone is not who they appear to be (thegone.wordpress.com). Kate has had short stories published in magazines and e-zines, including ‘The Lampeter Review’, ‘Jotter’s United’, and ‘What The Dickens’. She has had short stories included in the ‘Twisted Tales 2013’ anthology published by Raging Aardvark, and the ‘Busker Anthology’ and ‘Spooky Tales Anthology’ published by What the Dickens. Kate’s artwork has been exhibited at the Museum Of Modern Art in Machynlleth where she was selected after entering the art competition and at Aberglasney Gardens as part of the Mid Wales Art group. Her artwork has been published by companies from Norway to Australia and her latest works will have illustrations in it. She has also had a series of line drawings published by Staffordshire Wildlife Trust in their biodiversity action plan. Kate currently works in the foothill of the Cambrian Mountains where she has a purpose built workshop that she affectionately calls her ‘house’ as she spends far more time in there than anywhere else.
This entry was posted in Chapter 8 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Flight

  1. Kate says:

    Reblogged this on Kate Murray and commented:

    Flight – Can Bisty come to terms with Dee’s death? The next part of ‘The Gone’.

  2. ditchthebun says:

    Hooray! I was hoping the next part would make it out before Christmas… thanks 🙂

  3. ditchthebun says:

    How interesting to think that in just a few short hours, absolutely everything about her identity has been catapulted beyond her reach. First the place is destroyed with a virus, bad. Then she is supposedly immune, good. Then crazy lady locks her in a meat locker and she gets bit and it turns out that whilst she doesn’t become mindless monsters like the rest of them she does change into something else, a non-human, bad? but somewhat good because she is no longer on the menu? Then to top it all off she is the only female of this weird new Hunter species and so apparently the decades of fighting for feminism/equality never happened. This poor girl needs a break, someone give her a kit kat hahaha.

Leave a Reply

