Disquiet

“The lights are out.”

I turn to look at Colin in disgust. “Really?” I say with as much sarcasm as I can muster.

In the darkness I hear Max chuckle.

“Do you see her?” Colin asks and I’m struck with how inane his comments are. For a moment I am so angry that I want to hurt someone, specifically him. Then the feeling passes. I wonder if it has anything to do with what I am now. I must remember to watch my emotions. If I let myself lose control the result could be bad, at least for the person I was attacking.

“Do you think she’s in another cupboard?” Colin says.

Actually that isn’t a bad suggestion and I peer into the darkness. The odd thing is that the pitch black isn’t pitch black anymore. I can see, although my sight is only in black and white. I guess this must be my night vision. I turn to find Max is behind me and I look at his eyes. He looks really freaky. His pupils are as big as his irises.

“Your eyes,” he says, touching my face.

“Yours too.”

“Oh, get a room,” says Colin, so I turn my gaze on him. “Wow, do I look like that?”

I nod, knowing he can see me.

“Well, at least we can search for her without a torch.”

I shrug.

Colin sighs. “So we can keep our search as a surprise.”

“Because she won’t have heard the door or us talking,” Max says with sarcasm.

“Oh…”

I feel a little sorry for Colin, but it only lasts a moment. In the dining area we all hear a crash. It sounds very loud, but I think it was just one plate falling onto the floor. I start toward the noise but Max stops me. I glance at him and push past. I can hear him hiss breath between his teeth and I can’t help but smile. So he wants to be the boss? Then he never should have given me a drug that makes me feel like a superhero.

The dining room is completely dark and I am having problems seeing. I guess that I can’t see unless there is some light. And then, as if it heard me, the moon comes out from behind a cloud. The room is abandoned but the plate is smashed on the floor. I try to glance past the chairs. Oddly my vision, although good, is not that great with depth perception. I can hear really well though. And right this minute there is something breathing near the plate, I just can’t see it.

It is then that I feel a breeze on my face. The door that I had left through earlier is open and waving gently in the night. I start walking toward it, but a face appears above a table. Its grey pinched face stares at me. The eyes impossibly large. It sniffs the air and I’m surprised that its movements are so animalistic. I hope mine are more human.

It turns toward the door and then away. It’s searching for something. I watch it with detached interest. If Max is right it won’t want to eat me, but it suddenly looks directly at me and issues a cry that sounds like a baby in distress.

“Max?” I say.

He is standing a little behind me. “I see.”

“I thought you said…” I stop speaking when the creature’s gaze moves from me and turns to the other end of the dining room. It has picked up something else.

It moves away, its posture hunched and its movement’s jerky. It goes around the obstacles and we hear a scream.

“Dee,” I whisper.

Max is faster than me. The creature looks as if it was once a teenage female and is light. So as Colin streaks past me I leave them. They ought to be able to handle the creature. Instead, I focus on the door. I need to close it. I have to close it. I don’t want to find myself having to fight my way out. I move faster than I ever have before. It’s almost as if I have blinked and just arrived at the door. I don’t think about it too much.

When I was a child I found learning to ride a bike difficult. I forget how many weeks my mother held the bike up as I tried to pedal and stay upright. In the end she had sighed and told me I was thinking too much.

“What?” I’d asked.

“You are thinking way too much. Don’t, just do it.”

So I had. And for this I take the advice again. Do I know how I moved to fast? Not in the slightest, but I did, and that is enough for me.

Across from me I can see shadows moving. I don’t look too hard. Instead I simply close the door, pulling it softly closed until I hear the click of the latch.

I turn to find that the creature is slumped in a corner. I didn’t hear anything so one of the guys must have knocked it out.

“Who did that?” I ask.

“I did.”

I look, and from her crouched position Dee stands a syringe in her hand.

I raise an eyebrow. This woman is full of surprises. I can tell she is still human; she has a sweet smell that is appealing, and she is stumbling in the dark. I watch her and wonder if she needs help. Colin passes in front of one of the windows and she turns her focus to him, the syringe held out in front of her.

“What’s in it?” I ask.

She swings back to me and I realise that she is effectively blind in this light.

“Come here and I’ll show you.” Her voice is shaking in fear.

Max looks bored. He slides into a seat near her and sits. “Why did you try to turn us?”

“I didn’t try anything,” Dee says, moving the syringe in Max’s direction. “You are different.”

Max nods, but says nothing. He knows she can’t see but he makes no noise. In fact none of us do.

“Why?” I ask.

“You understand that we could kill you?” Colin asks from a position directly behind her.

She jumps and turns in a circle, her breathing harsh.

“Sit,” Max orders. “If we were going to kill you we would have already.” He sounds weary and depressed. I look over and see that he is watching outside.

I follow his gaze. There are at least twenty of the creatures out there. They are milling, but they are drawing toward the building.

“Oh shit,” I say.

About Kate

Kate Murray has recently completed her Masters in Creative Writing and is currently working as an illustrator and writer. Her first anthology of short stories ‘The Phantom Horse’ was published in December 2013 and she subsequently has had another anthology published by Raging Aardvark; “Love Just Is” looks at the truth of love, in all its guises from romantic to obsessive. She is currently working on an anthology of ghost stories which should be published at the end of October 2014 and is also writing her first novel. Kate runs two blogs, one is about her life as a writer (kate0murray.wordpress.com) and the other is a serialisation of a novel, “The Gone”; a disaster hits the world while Bitsy is on a flight from Italy. She lands to find that the world is completely altered and she must learn to survive in a place where everyone is not who they appear to be (thegone.wordpress.com). Kate has had short stories published in magazines and e-zines, including ‘The Lampeter Review’, ‘Jotter’s United’, and ‘What The Dickens’. She has had short stories included in the ‘Twisted Tales 2013’ anthology published by Raging Aardvark, and the ‘Busker Anthology’ and ‘Spooky Tales Anthology’ published by What the Dickens. Kate’s artwork has been exhibited at the Museum Of Modern Art in Machynlleth where she was selected after entering the art competition and at Aberglasney Gardens as part of the Mid Wales Art group. Her artwork has been published by companies from Norway to Australia and her latest works will have illustrations in it. She has also had a series of line drawings published by Staffordshire Wildlife Trust in their biodiversity action plan. Kate currently works in the foothill of the Cambrian Mountains where she has a purpose built workshop that she affectionately calls her ‘house’ as she spends far more time in there than anywhere else.
This entry was posted in Chapter 8 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Disquiet

  1. Kate says:

    Reblogged this on Kate Murray and commented:

    Disquiet – the next installment of The Gone. Bitsy, Max and Colin must escape, but what awaits them?

  2. ditchthebun says:

    Okay, the suspense is getting really suspenseful hahaha 🙂

Leave a Reply

