Q&A

I stare at him. Did he just make a joke? Max gives a slight smile but his eyes don’t leave mine.

I have so many questions, and I want to ask them but I can’t, not sounding like this. I close my eyes and try to calm down. When I look back at my hands they are the right colour. A check on my teeth reveals my normal human pegs.

“What have you done to me?” I whisper.

Max sighs and looks away. “I had to.”

“Had to?” I repeat.

Even Colin looks away. “I’m hungry,” he says.

I step back, there is no way that I’m going to be anyone’s dinner.

“No, Bitsy,” Max says. “We don’t need blood. We still eat and drink normally.”

“But I had teeth,” I say, gesturing to my mouth.

“Yes, but only when you’re worried or angry. The rest of the time you’ll look normal,” Max says.

“But I’m not.”

Colin shakes his head. “You are looking at it wrong.”

“What?” I ask.

“How long would we survive out there? How long would it be before we were bitten? I mean, I was. But I didn’t turn. I’m not one of those things.”

“I didn’t ask for it,” I say stubbornly.

“No you didn’t, but if it helps you survive then why fight it?”

I look at Colin. Why am I so annoyed? I think it’s because they didn’t ask. I glare at Max and he looks away.

“You could have asked.”

“I thought you’d say no.”

I go over to the shelves. I’m thirsty and a little hungry. Dwelling on how they have done it doesn’t matter. Not now.

“So what are we?”

“Better,” Max says and Colin rolls his eyes.

“So what are our super powers?” Colin asks.

“Night vision, strength and speed,” Max says and picks up a water bottle. He throws it in the air once and then at Colin. Moving faster than I can see, he steps to one side and catches it. “Enhanced reflexes too.”

I nod. I can work with it and Colin is right, it will help me survive. Still, it doesn’t help… “What about now?”

“What?” Colin asks.

“We are in a sealed room. How are we going to get out? And what about her?” I say, gesturing to the closed door.

Max’s face darkens. “She wants you two gone so she can take me to WHO. I think she wants to be the saviour.”

That word disturbs me, saviour. I have always been wary of religious people and that word conjures too many images. I think she’s crazy, either she always has been or it happened after the world ended, but being religious could make her more dangerous and unpredictable. For a second I wonder about telling the guys, but I keep my fears to myself. The priority is to get out of here and somewhere safe.

“So we have to leave,” Colin says.

“What did she mean to gain by putting Colin in here with us?” I ask Max.

“What do you mean?”

“She knew that you would survive but that I would become one of those things. So why would she think we wouldn’t eat you?” I ask.

“Because I told her that they didn’t attack me,” Max says.

“Any of us?” Colin asks.

Max nods. “We don’t taste nice I guess.”

I shake my head. “The most important super power and you don’t mention it.”

“Oops,” Max says with a smile.

I pick up a pack of biscuits and some water and sit down to eat. I look around, but I can’t see how we are going to escape until she opens the door. If she opens the door.

About Kate

Kate Murray has recently completed her Masters in Creative Writing and is currently working as an illustrator and writer. Her first anthology of short stories ‘The Phantom Horse’ was published in December 2013 and she subsequently has had another anthology published by Raging Aardvark; “Love Just Is” looks at the truth of love, in all its guises from romantic to obsessive. She is currently working on an anthology of ghost stories which should be published at the end of October 2014 and is also writing her first novel. Kate runs two blogs, one is about her life as a writer (kate0murray.wordpress.com) and the other is a serialisation of a novel, “The Gone”; a disaster hits the world while Bitsy is on a flight from Italy. She lands to find that the world is completely altered and she must learn to survive in a place where everyone is not who they appear to be (thegone.wordpress.com). Kate has had short stories published in magazines and e-zines, including ‘The Lampeter Review’, ‘Jotter’s United’, and ‘What The Dickens’. She has had short stories included in the ‘Twisted Tales 2013’ anthology published by Raging Aardvark, and the ‘Busker Anthology’ and ‘Spooky Tales Anthology’ published by What the Dickens. Kate’s artwork has been exhibited at the Museum Of Modern Art in Machynlleth where she was selected after entering the art competition and at Aberglasney Gardens as part of the Mid Wales Art group. Her artwork has been published by companies from Norway to Australia and her latest works will have illustrations in it. She has also had a series of line drawings published by Staffordshire Wildlife Trust in their biodiversity action plan. Kate currently works in the foothill of the Cambrian Mountains where she has a purpose built workshop that she affectionately calls her ‘house’ as she spends far more time in there than anywhere else.
This entry was posted in Chapter 7 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Q&A

  1. Kate says:

    Reblogged this on Kate Murray and commented:

    What has Bitsy become? #thegone #amwriting #novel

Leave a Reply

