Doors and Darkness

She looks at me, shocked, as if I am doing something stupid. I probably am but it has got to be done. I don’t think she or Max have realised just how dangerous our position is. But I have to know what is happening and if the WHO is still there.

Dee points at an outside door. It looks more like a window but I can see a handle. “Are you sure?” she asks, some of her bluster gone.

“Yes.” I start toward it and then stop. “If I’m not back in a couple of hours lock yourselves away.”

“Why?” Max asks. I notice that he is now standing and trying to leave the table, but Dee has a hold on his arm.

“The glass,” I say.

“What about it?”

I sigh. “How many were in the car park? How many are hiding in houses? They are all going to wake up and come here and then how long do you think the glass will hold?”

Dee glances at the wall of glass and her eyes widen.

“We are lucky,” I say. “The night won’t draw in till quite late, but the sun will go down.” With that I walk to the door and open it. There is a slight resistance as the metal frame sticks and then it springs open with a screech. Air flows past me bringing the smell of fires and grass. It could be a day of barbequing but I know what it means and I try not to think about it. Still, in my head I picture the thick oily smoke that crawled around us as we escaped the airport. I pause and then close the door behind me, wincing at the shriek.

Inside I can see that Max and Dee are arguing. From the way Max is throwing his arms around he wants to join me, but Dee is trying to stop him. I see something in her hand and I bang on the glass to warn him, but my warning makes him turn and look. It is all Dee needs. She jabs at him with an injection. He looks down in horror and then staggers. Carefully Dee guides him into the chair, putting his head onto his forearms. It looks like he is sleeping. She then walks to the window.

She shouts. “I’ve drugged him. You have one hour. After that he’ll wake.”

I nod and turn to go. I wonder if she will hurt him, but then Max is possibly the key to all of this. I understand what Dee has done but I don’t trust her. A small voice inside suggests that I don’t trust Max either, but I silence it. What about Colin? It suggests before disappearing. I don’t know. Do I stay?

Behind the glass Dee is making shooing motions and I realise that she may want me to leave and not return. After all, any one with Max is the saviour. He is more important than gold. I hope that she isn’t thinking like that but I realise that she might. But do I have a choice?

Shaking, I turn and look out over the hospital. What I need is the administration building. Offices…

I set off at a jog, looking left and right. I’m not worried about the creatures as the sun is shining. I wish I’d had the foresight to get a weapon. A grey block building looms and I turn toward it. The outside is drab and the entrance isn’t coloured. This is the closest one I’ve seen that looks like an office block.

The shadow from the building casts a pall across the ground and I stop before it. It reminds me of the childhood game not to tread on the cracks. Taking a deep breath I step forward into the gloom.

About Kate

Kate Murray has recently completed her Masters in Creative Writing and is currently working as an illustrator and writer. Her first anthology of short stories ‘The Phantom Horse’ was published in December 2013 and she subsequently has had another anthology published by Raging Aardvark; “Love Just Is” looks at the truth of love, in all its guises from romantic to obsessive. She is currently working on an anthology of ghost stories which should be published at the end of October 2014 and is also writing her first novel. Kate runs two blogs, one is about her life as a writer (kate0murray.wordpress.com) and the other is a serialisation of a novel, “The Gone”; a disaster hits the world while Bitsy is on a flight from Italy. She lands to find that the world is completely altered and she must learn to survive in a place where everyone is not who they appear to be (thegone.wordpress.com). Kate has had short stories published in magazines and e-zines, including ‘The Lampeter Review’, ‘Jotter’s United’, and ‘What The Dickens’. She has had short stories included in the ‘Twisted Tales 2013’ anthology published by Raging Aardvark, and the ‘Busker Anthology’ and ‘Spooky Tales Anthology’ published by What the Dickens. Kate’s artwork has been exhibited at the Museum Of Modern Art in Machynlleth where she was selected after entering the art competition and at Aberglasney Gardens as part of the Mid Wales Art group. Her artwork has been published by companies from Norway to Australia and her latest works will have illustrations in it. She has also had a series of line drawings published by Staffordshire Wildlife Trust in their biodiversity action plan. Kate currently works in the foothill of the Cambrian Mountains where she has a purpose built workshop that she affectionately calls her ‘house’ as she spends far more time in there than anywhere else.
This entry was posted in Chapter 6 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Doors and Darkness

  1. Kate says:

    Reblogged this on Kate Murray and commented:

    Doors and darkness. Bitsy takes a step away from Max.

Leave a Reply

